Using social media without being a big Fakey McFakerton

My 5 year old made me this puppet- don't you love the eyebrows?

My 5 year old made me this puppet- don’t you love the eyebrows?

As an artist who is just starting out with getting her work out there, and hoping to become successful, I’m always looking for the ways in which I can give my business the best start possible. I like the notion that successful handmade market businesses are the ones that allow their own, authentic voice to shine through. Not only in the products they make, but also in all aspects of marketing. Don’t make things you wouldn’t buy, or give to a friend. Don’t use branding that doesn’t represent you. I don’t mean to say that I wouldn’t stretch my boundaries and try new things even if it is uncomfortable, I mean that I should listen to myself when trying to find the right fit, and really examine whether or not it allows me to use my authentic voice. My head is so saturated with social media right now, I was finding myself clenching my teeth every time I thought about it… not healthy! Here’s the thing- online businesses require online marketing, and for many people that’s waaay outside their comfort zone, present company included.

Facebook and I are not friends. (If you are reading this post via my Facebook page, I’m totally not talking about you) Yet, it is so hard for me to pinpoint the reason why. I’m testing out as much of the social media options as I can, and some are a better fit than others. I don’t use my personal Facebook page, only the business, but my husband’s page is always open, so I shamelessly scroll through it. I think what really ruins it for me are those people who find it perfectly within the realm of social normalcy to post the most horrible pictures from the OTHER side of the internet you know what I’m talking about stop looking confused.

So I’m all, scroll scroll

“Oh, Diana’s having a baby”

“Hey, looks like Jenn’s making vegan lasagna for dinner again”

Selfie

Selfie

OPEN HEAD WOUND.    

 

What. Is. Wrong. With. You.

 

Ok, ok… that never comes up on a business page, so it can’t really be the reason why I don’t click with Facebook.

Here’s the real reason: I think it may be because I tend to think of each site as a physical space, with its own unique characteristics, and so I experience a different kind of presence in each space. For example, I recently redid my blog page to match my branding (jeeze that sounded obnoxious) and I love it! Before, it was dark and clunky. Kind of corporate-looking and not a place I wanted to hang out in at all… Now it seems bright and pretty and joyful to me. I want to post to my blog because it feels more like my own space. On the other hand, Facebook (to me) feels like a big empty room that I occasionally burst into and loudly announce something. To nobody. I’m not too worried about it, though, because I have found a few other platforms I like, such as my blog. Also, Facebook for business is quickly becoming a less relevent tool for many because of it’s scroogy-ness with the post exposure. (Again, NOT you. You are so relevant. Much love to the 3 people who actually saw this post in their feed)

To me, Pinterest feels like a shopping mall- and I hate shopping. Sure, there’s DIY stuff and recipes, but I have no interest in those things either. So, while I do have a Pinterest account for business, I feel akward about posting there because it doesn’t really reflect my interests and values, and I find myself neglecting it.

Now Instagram is a different story… I love it. Posting on Instagram is like rolling down your window and being like “haa-ay” and people wave and you’re done. I can so do that! I’ve only just started with Instagram, and have already found it to be easier to use and far more responsive than Facebook or Pinterest. Also, I like that you are posting your own things, not grabbing images that may not belong to you, that artists may not want reposted.

Best of all? I can send all my blog posts and Instagram shares right to Facebook, so I only have to really keep up with two platforms.

Using any new media is going to take a little while to feel comfortable, so give new ventures a chance, but pay attention to what feels right for you!

Say something brilliant! No pressure.

